2021 “Responsible Research in Management” Award

Sponsored by the Academy of Management Fellows

Co-sponsored by the Responsible Research in Business and Management

Call for Nominations

Submission deadline:

February 1, 2021



Responsible research is defined as studies that produce both credible and useful knowledge. Credibility refers to the reliability, validity or trustworthiness of findings, in either inductive or deductive work, using qualitative data, quantitative data, or both. Usefulness refers to the potential of the knowledge to inform policy and influence practice. The purpose of this responsible research award is to recognize rigorously conducted and societally beneficial studies, contributing knowledge with the potential to make the world a better place. We call for nominations of published work that exemplifies these principles of responsible research. *



The Fellows Group of the Academy of Management is composed of members of the Academy who have made significant contributions to the science and practice of management. In addition to fellowship and discussion among persons so recognized and honored, the Fellows Group may perform activities of an educational nature deemed necessary for the exercise of intellectual leadership in the field of management.

The Community for Responsible Research in Business and Management (RRBM) is dedicated to inspiring, encouraging, and supporting credible and useful research in the business and management disciplines. Visit rrbm.network for the RRBM mission, the range of supporters, readings, and activities.


Award Recognition

  1. Award winners will receive a certificate of recognition. A recognition letter signed by the Dean of the Fellows Group of the Academy of Management will be sent to recipients’ deans and department heads.
  2. Award-winning papers will be featured on both AOM and RRBM websites.
  3. The list will be publicized via listservs of management associations, and other forums or social media.
  4. Winners will be invited to the annual Fellows dinner to receive their certificates and to be recognized.
  5. Winners may be invited to share their winning work at the AOM meeting or other conferences.


Submission Criteria

We invite nominations or self-nominations of empirical research articles or research books (edited volumes are ineligible), written in the English language and published within the last five years (2016-2020), that meet the following criteria:

  1. Research that exemplifies the Seven Principles of Responsible Research (see below for definitions).
  2. Research situated at any level of analysis (individual, team, organization, society), investigating any kind of organization (business, non-profit, government, ), and focusing on any region of the world. Qualitative and/or quantitative review of accumulated robust evidence of problems or solutions are also suitable.
  3. Research published (or accepted) in a refereed journal or in a book published by a university or academic press such as Harvard, Stanford, Oxford, Cambridge, Sage, Wiley, Routledge, etc.


Submission Procedure, Evaluation and Decision Date

  1. Submit your nomination (self-nominations accepted) to awards[at]rrbm.network before February 1, 2021 indicating in the email if the nominated research is a) at the macro (firm or above) or micro (individual or teams) level, and b) whether it is an article or a book.
  2. Attach with your nomination, a PDF copy of the article/book, a pre-print, or finalized manuscript for in-press articles or books.
  3. A cover letter in no more than one single-spaced page that describes or includes:
    1. Why this work (research article or book) deserves to be considered for the Award, and
    2. Any available evidence demonstrating i) how this work has made a positive impact on practice, and ii) how this work has been disseminated to stakeholders beyond the academic community.
  4. A committee of AOM Fellows and practicing executives will evaluate the nominations.
  5. The winners of the award will be informed on or before June 15, 2021. **
  6. Please contact awards[at]rrbm.network for any inquiry about the award or nomination procedure.


* For a detailed description of the seven principles please read the position paper “Responsible Research in Business and Management: Striving for Credible and Useful Knowledge.”

** Please visit this RRBM page to view lists of previous Award winners.



AOM Fellows Responsible Research Award Committee

Ashforth, BlakeArizona State UniversitySiegel, DonArizona State University
Coyle-Shapiro, JackieThe London School of EconomicsSitkin, SimDuke University
DeNisi, AngeloTulane UniversitySutcliffe, KathleenJohns Hopkins University
Folger, RobertUniversity of Central FloridaThomas, HowardSingapore Management University
Klimoski, RichGeorge Mason UniversityTolbert, PamCornell University
Leana, CarrieUniversity of PittsburgTrevino, LindaThe Pennsylvania State University
Luo, YadongUniversity of MiamiTsui, AnneUniversity of Notre Dame
Meyer, AlanUniversity of OregonVan de Ven, AndyUniversity of Minnesota
Roberts, KarleneUniversity of California, BerkeleyWilliams, LarryTexas Tech University