2023 “Responsible Research in Management” Award

Sponsored by the Academy of Management Fellows

Co-sponsored by the Responsible Research in Business and Management

Supported by the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business

Call for Nominations

Submission deadline:

January 31, 2023



This award recognizes rigorously conducted and societally beneficial research contributing knowledge with the potential to make the world a better place. Responsible research gives rise to both credible and useful knowledge. Credibility refers to the reliability, validity, and trustworthiness of findings, in either inductive or deductive work, using qualitative data, quantitative data, or both. Usefulness refers to the potential of the knowledge to inform policy and influence practice. We call for nominations of published work that exemplifies these principles of responsible research.


The Fellows Group of the Academy of Management is composed of members who have made significant contributions to the science and practice of management.  Through this Award, the Fellows seek to recognize published research that yields credible results, guides practice, and benefits society.

The Responsible Research in Business and Management network (RRBM) is dedicated to inspiring, encouraging, and supporting credible and useful research in the business and management disciplines.  Learn more about the RRBM’s mission, supporters, readings, and activities.

Michigan Ross supports the Responsible Research in Management Award Ceremony held at the Academy of Management conference.

Submission Criteria

We invite nominations or self-nominations of empirical research articles or research books, written in the English language and published within the last four years (2019-2022) that meet the following criteria:

  • Research that exemplifies the Seven Principles of Responsible Research.
  • Research situated at any level of analysis (individual, team, organization, society), investigating any kind of organization (business, non-profit, governmental), and focusing on any region of the world. Qualitative and/or quantitative reviews of accumulated robust evidence of problems or solutions are also suitable.
  • Research published in a refereed journal (or accepted) or in a book published by a university or academic press such as Harvard, Stanford, Oxford, Cambridge, Sage, Wiley, Routledge, etc.

Submission Procedures

  • Submit your nomination(s) to https://www.rrbm.network/rrma23_nomination/ by January 31, 2023.
  • Upload a PDF copy of the article or book, a pre-print, or finalized manuscript for in-press articles or books.
  • Upload in PDF a nomination letter in no more than one single-spaced page that describes:
    • Why this work (research article or book) deserves to be considered for the Award.
    • Any available evidence demonstrating i) how this work has made a positive impact on practice, and ii) how this work has been disseminated to stakeholders beyond the academic community.
  • Nominations will be evaluated by (1) Fellows of AOM, and (2) a panel of practicing executives.
  • Winners of the award will be informed on or before June 15, 2023.
  • To view lists of previous winners of this Award, visit this RRBM page.
  • Please contact awards[at]rrbm.network with any inquiries about the award or nomination procedure.

Award Recognition

  • AOM conferences and other professional meetings will spotlight award-winning work.
  • Award winners will receive a plaque recognizing their accomplishment.
  • Recipients’ deans and department heads will receive a recognition letter from the Dean of the Fellows Group of the Academy of Management.
  • Recipients will be announced and featured on the AOM and RRBM websites.
  • Award winners will be announced on listservs of management associations and other social media.

AOM Fellows Responsible Research Award Steering Committee

Carrie LeanaUniversity of PittsburghChair, AOM Fellows RRMA Steering Committee
Sim SitkinDuke UniversityCo-Chair, AOM Fellows RRMA Steering Committee
Alan MeyerUniversity of OregonPast Chair, AOM Fellows RRMA Steering Committee
Anne TsuiArizona State UniversityAward Project Liaison, RRBM co-founder
Don SiegelArizona State UniversityDean, Academy of Management Fellows
Miriam ErezTechnionDeputy Dean, Academy of Management Fellows
Tima BansalIvey Business SchoolChair, Macro Papers Subcommittee
Yadong LuoUniversity of MiamiCo-Chair, Macro Papers Subcommittee
Jackie Coyle-ShapiroLondon School of EconomicsChair, Micro Papers Subcommittee
Batia WeisenfeldNew York UniversityCo-Chair, Micro Papers Subcommittee
Howard ThomasSingapore Management Univ.Chair, Books Subcommittee
Roy SuddabyUniversity of VictoriaCo-Chair, Books Subcommittee
Syd FinkelsteinDartmouth CollegeChair, Executive Review Subcommittee