AMA-EBSCO Annual RRBM “Responsible Research in Marketing” Award


Co-Sponsored by The Sheth Foundation

In cooperation with the Community for Responsible Research in Business and Management (RRBM)


Call for nominations

Submission deadline : October 21, 2019


Responsible research is defined as studies that produce both credible and useful knowledge. Credibility refers to the reliability and validity or trustworthiness of the findings, in either inductive or deductive work, using either qualitative or quantitative data, or both. Usefulness refers to the potential of the knowledge to inform policies and practices. The purpose of responsible research is to encourage methodologically rigorous and societally beneficial studies contributing knowledge with the potential to make the world a better place. We call for nominations of published work that exemplifies the principles of responsible research as outlined on and described in detail in the position paper “Responsible Research forBusiness and Management: Striving for Credible and Useful Knowledge.”

Review Committee and Process

A team of academics and executives, appointed by and coordinated through the AMA Academic Division, will assess the nominations. The Committee’s size will be determined by the number of nominations and comprises accomplished scholars and senior executives from leading organizations including the award sponsors. The academic members assess the nominations for both credibility and usefulness while the executive members focus on the potential usefulness of the research findings to inform societally beneficial management or business practice.

Award Recognition

    1. Award-winning papers and books will be recognized and be featured on the RRBM, AMA, and Sheth Foundation websites.
    2. Award winners will receive a certificate of recognition from the joint sponsors and a recognition letter jointly signed by RRBM, AMA, and the Sheth Foundation and will be sent to the relevant deans and department heads.
    3. Cash prizes, provided by EBSCO, will be awarded to a select number of winners.
    4. The list will be publicized via listservs of marketing associations, and other forms of public or social media platforms.
    5. Selected winners will be invited to present their work at the AMA Winter Academic Conference.

Submission Criteria
We accept nominations, including self-nominations, of empirical and conceptual research articles or research books, in the English language and published in the recent five years (2014- 2018), that meet the following criteria:

  1. Research that exemplifies the Seven Principles of Responsible Research  and supports the general notion of “better marketing for a better world”.
  2. The research can be on any level of analysis (individual, team, organization, society), for anykind of organization (business, non-profit, social enterprises, government) and focus on anyregion of the world.
  3. The article should be published (or accepted) in a refereed journal, or book by a university oracademic press, such as Harvard, Stanford, Oxford, Wiley, Sage, Routledge, etc., during 2014 to 2018.

Submission Procedure

  1. A PDF copy of the article or the book, a pre-print or finalized manuscript for in press article or book.
  2. A cover letter that describes why this work (research article or book) deserves to be considered for the Award, in two single-spaced pages or no more than 1000 words. If possible, provide: a) evidence on the “usefulness” of the research, e.g., how it has made a positive impact on practice or society, and b) information on how this work has been disseminated to stakeholders beyond the academic community.
  3. Include the nominee’s current affiliation and contact information (phone and email address), as well as nominator’s name, affiliation and contact information in the cover letter.
  4. Submit nomination materials (PDF of work and cover letter) to mweingarden[at] by October 21, 2019.
  5. Self-nominations are acceptable as well.
  6. The decision of the award will be announced on or before February 1, 2020.
  7. Please contact Matt Weingarden at mweingarden[at] for any inquiry about the award or nomination procedure.